Meet the Mentor: Nishant Ratnakar

Image

I am an independent visual storyteller based in Bangalore city, India. My photography journey began as a hobby in college years when I was studying to be a software engineer. After spending a year in India’s booming IT industry, I decided to answer my true calling of being a photographer. I quit my IT job and went on a self-learning curve of being a photojournalist. Since then, I spent nearly five years working as a staff photojournalist for various publications across India including the Times group and DNA (Daily News & Analysis).

In 2008, I was selected as a participant in the young Asian Photographers workshop held as part of the Angkor Photography Festival, Cambodia. In 2010, I was awarded a full scholarship to pursue a Diploma in Photojournalism from theAsian Center For Journalism (ACFJ) at Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines. In the same year, my short-film “Err-bane truth” won the Lost lakes of Bangalore film contest organised by India Water Portal. In 2012, I was awarded the honorary mention in the Photo Story category of Media Foundation of India’s (MFI) National Press Photo Contest.

I am a firm believer in new media, and work beyond traditional platforms. As   and as a visual storyteller, I have produced several multimedia projects and short-films. I now work with a range of clients from traditional media houses, NGOs, alternate/community media, corporate, wedding and individuals, taking editorial photography & Visual Story-telling to newer avenues.

About happy camera club

Happy camera club is an initiative brought upon by a thought to teach the less privileged basic aspects of a skill like photography which further can be used by them in their day to day life. To leave them with an additional skill set to choose from. A win-win situation ,we aim to work with organizations and people who support this cause.
This entry was posted in Events in bangalore, Photographers for Happy Camera Club, Photography mentors of HCC, Photography workshops in bangalore, Photography, Education,Vocational training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

